Belconnen Community Council 2018 Annual General Meeting Agenda

Belconnen Community Council Inc.

Annual General Meeting followed by General Meeting

17 September 2018, 7:00–9:00 pm

Venue: Community Room Belconnen Library


  1. 7:00 pm Welcome and call for apologies.
    • BCC Deputy Chair, Damien Haas
  1. 7:05 pm AGM Business
  • Chair’s Annual Report—BCC Deputy Chair, Damien Haas

Moved: Damien Haas             Seconded:

  • Acceptance of Previous AGM Minutes

Moved: Damien Haas             Seconded:

  • Acceptance of audited accounts

Moved: Mary van de Graaff    Seconded:

  • Public Officer declares all committee positions vacant. Committee appointments for 2018–19 announced.

As there were sufficient nominations for the positions being declared vacant, with no competing nominations, no election is required.

Chair: Glen Hyde

Deputy Chair: Damien Haas

Secretary:  Bron Vincent

Treasurer: Mary van de Graaff

Committee members: Maree Pavloudis

Charles Thomas

Other committee positions called for from the floor.

  • Appointment of Richard Trevanion as auditor for 2018–19.

Moved: Damien Haas                 Seconded:

  1. 7:30 pm AGM declared closed

BCC Committee positions for 2015/16

The Constitution of the Belconnen Community Council requires that all positions for the Committee (Executive and ordinary) are declared vacant at the Annual General Meeting. The positions are then filled by eligible members that have been nominated for them.

To be eligible to be elected or appointed to a Committee position at the AGM, the nominated member must have attended at least three public meetings in the 12 months prior to the AGM. A nominee must be nominated or seconded (if they self-nominate) by a BCC member.

If there is a greater number of nominees than positions available then elections will be held at the AGM. Only registered BCC members present at the AGM are eligible to cast a vote.

The period to nominate for Committee positions opened on 28 October and closed on 10 November 2015. Nominations were received for the following positions:
Tara Cheyne            Chair
Damien Haas           Deputy
Chander Khera        Secretary
Timothy Bogie        Treasurer
Ordinary Committee Members
Michael Bakos
Graeme Evans
Christine Gingell
Elizabeth Hirst
Glen Hyde
Brian Rhynehart
Charles Thomas
As only one eligible member was nominated for each position, there is no requirement for an election to be held at the AGM. The eligible members that have been nominated for the positions will be declared to hold those positions at the 2015 AGM by the Returning Officer.